What is a Wind Mitigation Inspection?

Floridians are well-versed in protecting our homes from hurricane-related wind damage. We secure doors and windows, fill up sand bags, and clear our yards of loose debris.

But most people forget about the biggest area of protection for their home: the roof.

Your realtor or home inspector might have recommended that you get a wind inspection, but what is it? And—more importantly—why is it so important?

The inspection report will examine seven areas:

  1. Construction Year: the year your home was built, which tells the home inspector how strict the building codes were;
  2. Roof Covering: the type of roof covering (shingle, tile, etc.) and age of the roof;
  3. Roof Decking: the material your decking (i.e. the material your shingles are nailed to) is made of, the type of nails securing the shingles, and how far apart the nails are;
  4. Roof To Wall Attachment: the method used to attach the roof to your walls;
  5. Roof Shape: the shape and slope of your roof;
  6. Secondary Water Resistance: the type of material between the shingles and roof decking;
  7. Opening Protections: whether you have additional protections on openings such as sunroofs, garage doors, windows, etc.
schedule an inspection today

Based on 456 reviews.
Blessed Cleaning Services
Blessed Cleaning Services
2021-08-30
diane Chong
diane Chong
2021-08-26
Michael Simao
Michael Simao
2021-08-24
Frank Sandor
Frank Sandor
2021-08-24
Great job with training. Wish they were in the Buffalo area
Jennifer Lee
Jennifer Lee
2021-08-23
Carlos was excellent and very professional! Answered all of our questions and did a thorough job. Would recommend!
Jamshid Shabbir
Jamshid Shabbir
2021-08-21
Katie Belviso
Katie Belviso
2021-08-21
I highly recommend The Inspection Boys. We had Quincy Jones and he was great! He was a sweetheart, punctual, thorough, answered all of our questions and did an amazing job with the inspection. We also got the detailed report very quickly. Very happy with our experience.
delarno tuwroh
delarno tuwroh
2021-08-20
Very thorough and impressive turnaround time.
Denise Hibbert
Denise Hibbert
2021-08-20
Great CE class from Brigitte Malik & the Inspection Boys. Very informative
Patricio Cerda
Patricio Cerda
2021-08-18

SERVING THESE AREAS:

NEW YORK

Central Suffolk County
East Suffolk County
Western Suffolk County
Nassau County
East Islip
Great River
Jamaica
Miller Place
Port Jefferson
Ridge
Bayport
Sayville

South Hampton
Stony Brook
Westhampton
Elmont
Hicksville
Oyster Bay
Massapequa
Great Neck
Jackson Heights
Flushing
Far Rockaway
Smithtown

FLORIDA

Broward County
Coconut Creek
Hollywood
Pompano Beach
Fort Lauderdale

OHIO
Northeast Ohio
PENNSYLVANIA
Poconos – Corporate Headquarters 
MISSOURI
Kansas City
SOUTH CAROLINA
Charleston
Monks Corner
John’s Island
Mt. Pleasant
Summerville